Recap Banner


 Feel free to watch the whole 2017 Annual Meeting above or portions below:

CEO George Carter’s Presentation

80 Years at PPEC

Chairman of the Board-Dr. John Saxton

Cooperative History Video

Why It’s Important to Join ACRE

Treasury Report

We say goodbye to Treasurer, Gary Hayden. He served 15 years on the PPEC Board of Trustees. Gary represented Sugar Creek, Union, Ottawa, Pleasant, & Riley Townships in Putnam County. Jerry represented Marion, Madison, Monroe, Preble, Root, and Union Townships in Indiana.

“I’m very proud of the accomplishments made by this board and the employees over the last 15 years. We’ve made plant upgrades and our outages have drastically reduced. I can remember when people would say, if the wind blew, there was an outage, now that hardly happens. We’ve reduced outages drastically and achieved the lowest level of outages in 2016.” ~Gary Hayden


Annual Meeting 2017  Photo Gallery 1

Annual Meeting 2017 Photo Gallery 2

Over 500 attend Paulding Putnam Electric Co-Op Annual Meeting

(Paulding, OH) Paulding Putnam Electric Co-op held its 80th Annual meeting on Saturday, March 18. It was a momentous event, where both Board Chairman Dr. John Saxton and President and CEO George Carter reflected on the co-op’s rich history.

“In 1936, the original membership fee to bring electricity out to rural America was $10.00. That may not sound like much, but that was the equivalent of $175.00 today,” stated Carter.

At the time, investor owned utilities didn’t want to take the chance on electrifying rural America. They felt rural America wouldn’t use enough electricity to justify the means. “The investor owned utilities didn’t have the vision, but our original board of directors did, and it had a profound effect on rural America, and has made us what we are today,” added Carter.

Besides hitting the milestone of holding 80 Annual Meetings, PPEC Board Chairman Dr. John Saxton, pointed out several highlights for the year 2016.  Again, in 2016 the coopera­tive did not increase its charges to the membership. “Members will not see an increase in 2017 either, but we may have to have an increase in 2018,” stated Saxton. A cost of study will be completed in late summer to determine if a rate increase will be necessary in 2018.

During the meeting it was also noted that in October 2016, the employees achieved one full year without a lost time accident. “This is an unprecedented milestone.  This doesn’t happen without the dedication to a culture of safety embraced by all employees and supported by the Board of Trustees,” said Carter.

In other business, attorney Norman Cook reported on the results of the trustee elections. In District 1, Joseph Kohen from Monroeville, Indiana won a two way race to fill the seat which had been served more than 15 years by retiring board member Jerry Sorg. In District 6, Dr. John Saxton ran opposed and in District 9, Dr. Ronald Black ran against Incumbent Gary Hayden and won.

Several local high school students were also recognized during the meeting:


1ST PLACE      Maggie Wilson – Antwerp HS

                         Jordan Drummelsmith – Miller City HS

2nd PLACE      Katie Fuetter – Ottawa Glandorf HS

                           Troy Ricker – Fort Jennings HS

3rd PLACE      Claire Westrick – Miller City HS

                         Griffin Morman – Fort Jennings HS

                           At Large          Kelsey Miller – Continental HS

Touchstone Energy ® Achievement

Gabrielle Gudakunst – Wayne Trace HS

Youth Tour winners

Chloe Lammers – Miller City HS

Abigail Schroeder – Miller City HS


Members that couldn’t make it to the meeting, are invited to go to our website: to watch the full video of the Annual Meeting.



Pin It on Pinterest