Run for the board!

Interested in running for our board of trustees and shaping the strategic direction of the cooperative?

The Paulding Putnam Electric Co-op Board of Trustees consists of nine co-op members who each represent one district within the territory served by PPEC. The trustees are responsible for establishing, reviewing, and revising corporate policies to ensure that service to the PPEC membership is foremost in mind while maintaining a stable yet competitive position in the industry by setting rate structures. 

Each trustee serves a three-year term and either must seek re-election again after the term or retire. Elections are held annually by the membership prior to the Annual Meeting in March. 

Each year, different districts are up for election. If you are a PPEC member who lives in a district up for election and can get 20 signatures of support, you qualify to run!


Districts 3, 7, and 8 are up for election in 2021. 

  • District 3 – includes the Paulding County (Ohio) Townships of Carryall, Crane, Harrison, and Benton. This position is held by Timothy Derck, who is seeking re-election.
  • District 7 – includes the Putnam County (Ohio) Townships of Monroe, Palmer, Liberty, and Greensburg. This position is represented by Kenneth Niese, who is seeking re-election.
  • District 8 – includes the Putnam County (Ohio) Townships of Perry, Jackson, Jennings, Monterey, and Marion. This position was held by Douglas Fortman, who is not seeking re-election. This will create an open seat for the District 8 election.


The election process begins with a petition form. Any PPEC member who resides in the districts up for election who wishes to be considered as a trustee candidate may pick up the required petition from the cooperative office or download one online starting Nov. 20, 2020.

Download petition

All completed petition forms must be received at the PPEC office no later than Dec. 20, 2020, by 4 pm. Petitions can be emailed to or can be mailed to our office (but must be postmarked by the correct deadline). Each one will be verified, and only those candidates who have met all the requirements will be placed on the ballot. The official ballots will be mailed to members in the districts up for election in February.

The winners of the election will be announced at our Virtual Annual Meeting on March 20, 2021.

Ways to Obtain a Petition:

– A petition form may be picked up at our office located at 401 McDonald Pike, Paulding, Ohio 45879

-You may also download the form at the top of this page or by clicking HERE.


*If you aren’t sure what district you live in, check out the map below. You can also call our office at 800-686-2357 to verify.


Pin It on Pinterest