(Paulding, OH) Paulding Putnam Electric Co-op (PPEC) held its 81st Annual Meeting on Saturday, March 17.  It was a well-attended event, where both Board Chairman Dr. John Saxton and President and CEO George Carter reflected on 2017 and discussed plans for years to come.

 “Our employees rise to the challenge every day to provide great service to our members,” stated Carter. Carter went onto explain that over the past several years the co-op has made great progress in member satisfaction, outage times, and he emphasized how PPEC has the lowest rates in the region.

“PPEC hasn’t had a rate increase in over 4 years. While we don’t like to ever increase rates, members will see around a $3 per month increase on their bill in March. Even with the slight increase, when compared to other utilities, this is still lower than surrounding utilities,” said Carter.

The small increase was deemed necessary after a Cost of Service Study was conducted in 2017 and will be used to continue making necessary improvements to PPEC’s aging infrastructure. This will aid in continuing the co-op’s efforts in improving reliable power to members.

During the Annual Meeting, PPEC Board Chairman Dr. John Saxton, pointed out several highlights for the year 2017.  “I’m proud to be part of PPEC. We have held controllable expenses to one-half of the national average and we’ve done all this while improving our reliability.”

During the meeting, PPEC also recognized their “Who Powers You” nominees. Paulding Putnam Electric launched the #WhoPowersYou contest last year to recognize and reward community volunteers. #WhoPowersYou is in partnership with America’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives and is a national contest to promote volunteerism. This contest is designed to celebrate local heroes. It’s a chance for our co-op members and employees to nominate someone who’s making a difference in our community.

“While our nominees didn’t win the national contest, we still want to thank them for making a big impact in our community,” stated PPEC Marketing Manager Erika Willitzer.

The following were nominated for the national contest and recognized: Griffin Waltermire of Van Wert, Phyliss Bidlack of Paulding, Doug Deitering of Glandorf, Kylee Baumle of Paulding, and Stan Jordan of Antwerp.

In other business, attorney Brian Gorrell reported that Doug Fortman (District 8), Ken Niese (District 7), and Tim Derck (District 3) all ran unopposed and therefore, were re-elected. Following this announcement, the PPEC Board took their oath of office.

Several local high school students were also recognized during the meeting. The Youth Tour winners were Madelyn Lamb from Crestview HS and Adrienne Rosswurm from Payne (Home School). Youth Tour is a week-long trip which includes visits to many of the most famous sites in Washington, D.C., and includes visits with the students’ Congressional representatives.

Also, honored scholarship winners:

1st place – $1000

Jacob Kahle – Kalida HS

Elena Niese – Miller City HS


2nd place – $800

Allison Ruhe – Miller City HS

Brian Matson – Paulding HS


3rd place – $600

Abigail Schroeder – Miller City HS

Abigail Hilvers – Ottoville HS

Tyson Niese – Miller City HS


Pin It on Pinterest